Proud to Achieve 4 Stars Overall from CMS!

According to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services website, assessment information is gathered to measure the quality of certain aspects of nursing home care, like whether residents have gotten their flu shots, are in pain, or are losing weight.  These measures of care are called “quality measures.”  Medicare posts each nursing home’s scores for these quality measures on Nursing Home Compare.  By comparing scores, you can evaluate how nursing homes may differ from one another.

You can use the quality measures to:

  • choose a nursing home for yourself or others
  • find out about the care at nursing homes where you or family members already live
  • gather information to talk to nursing home staff about the quality of care

Nursing homes can use the quality measures to review and improve the quality of the care they give to residents.

For more information on our CMS star rating, please visit this page.   To view Bayou Vista’s nursing home profile directly, please visit this page.


Bronze National Quality Award

Bayou Vista has been awarded a 2015 Bronze Commitment to Quality Award for their dedication to improving the lives of residents through quality care. The award is the first of three distinctions possible through the National Quality Award Program, presented by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL). The program honors centers across the nation that have demonstrated their commitment to improving quality care for seniors.

Continuous Quality Improvement: A long term focus

“Continuously improving our quality has been a long term practice at Bayou Vista,” explained Megan Williams, administrator.  “We believed going through the process of applying for this quality award would help our team continue to grow and learn to the benefit of the residents we serve.  While we have long been involved in some of the focus areas – such as using a quality assurance performance improvement process and having an independent company conduct satisfaction surveys with residents, employees and families – applying for the National Quality Award which is centered on the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, really helped us to continue to improve our processes and quality which ultimately benefits those we serve.

Baldrige Performance Excellence Program

National Quality Award Program implemented by AHCA-NCAL in 1996, is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. The program assists providers of long term and post-acute care services in achieving their performance excellence goals.

The program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Centers begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level, where they develop an organizational profile with essential performance elements such as vision and mission statements and an assessment of customers’ expectations. Bronze applicants must also demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Examiners review each application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. As a recipient of the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award, Bayou Vista may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Silver – Achievement in Quality Award.

Take a Virtual Tour of Our Community

Our spacious, well-appointed center allows us to provide care in an environment that makes residents feel at home.